Happy Birthday to Me!


I turned 24 years old two days ago but I didn’t feel like celebrating this year. Which is a pretty big deal actually, I’m usually very excited about my birthday. I start thinking about what I’m going to do weeks before. Last year I planned a dinner with some of my closest friends, some great people I had the chance to work with for a while and a few casual acquaintances. We went to my favorite restaurant, indulged in some delicious food and side conversations, and caught up with old friends and then part ways at the end of the night.

As I mused over what I should do for my birthday this year, who I should invite and where we shall dine I came to a sudden realization. I realized nothing really changes year after year…except for the faces across the table. After that I asked myself what the point was and promptly decided I didn’t want to do anything this year.

I think back to the guest list from last year…my 23rd birthday dinner was the last time I saw some of those people, there are others that have moved on and that I have lost touch with, and there are close friends that have moved away and it just wouldn’t feel right without them.

On the bright side, I haven’t only lost people in my life as I transition into my 24th year. I have managed to meet some great people in the last year, create some unbreakable bonds that I know will be with me for the rest of my life and also reconnect with old friends.

Between deciding to and not to celebrate my birthday I realized when it was over that I actually did. I surround myself with positive energy and people that chose to be apart of my life everyday, and make it special. I didn’t have to go out for a fancy dinner at my favourite restaurant, get dressed up and hassle people to RSVP by a certain date so I could make dinner reservations. I have an amazing husband that called and wished me at 12 sharp, twice – how awesome is that? He celebrated my birthday from across the world, bought and cut cake for me and was the first to wish me without fail. A family that called and sung happy birthday to me! My brother who managed to find me the most amazing cake – Cookies and Cream (yes this is why he’s amazing)! My friends who went out of their way to plan my birthday regardless of anything that I said or how many times I said I didn’t want to. And last but not least my second family that celebrated my birthday like it was theirs. The day was full of pleasant surprises.

I received a lot pleasant birthday wishes, and phone calls that put a smile on my face. While there were a few calls that I waited for, that did not come…I realized at the end of the day that I had a fabulous day. From the 12 am phone call from my husband to the birthday messages to the cake and the surprise at the dinner table down the very last minute I celebrated my birthday without even realizing it.

With that my friends, I realized that I celebrate every day of every month of every year…because these are the people and the positive energy that I surround myself with! There are good days and bad days, but it’s not entirely such a bad thing that the faces across the table have changed…its life.

The only thing I ask is to be able to spend it with family and friends next year…and for the faces across the table to become constant as the years go on!

Cheers to better times!

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”
― Douglas AdamsThe Long Dark Tea-Time of the Soul

Life-is-beautiful

One thought on “Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Happy birthday again! Next year I will call you 25 times to celebrate your 25th birthday my love and I promise we will celebrate it together. I love u ! I always did and I always will.

Leave a Reply

